20 years….

A lot can happen in 20 years.  20 years ago I was getting ready to start my senior year of high school at Long Beach Polytechnic.  Yes, you guessed it!  My 20 year high school reunion is next Summer.  I just got the e-mail with the date and location. 

Can I tell you how this has just rocked my world?  Even recently, if I heard someone talking about a 20 year reunion I would think they were pretty old.  You know, mature and very settled in their life….old.  That is not me.  I mean, I don’t think that is me.  No, I’m definitely not mature.

Here is the thing….I’m totally starting to do that girl thing when it comes to events like this.  I’m thinking about how I look.  I’m also thinking about my accomplishments (or lack there of) alittle too, but mostly my looks.  Specifically my weight.  I really don’t want to go to the reunion fat.  Here are my options as I see them:

1.  Have surgery..lipo, band, something quick and requires little more from me than just showing up.

2.  Be pregnant at the reunion.  I don’t drink anyways and that is a great reason to be plump.

3.  Be secure in myself enough to have a great time regardless of my weight.

4.  Adopt a healthy lifestyle, loose weight and gain confidence through hard work and good food choices.

Yeah, I’m thinking #2 too.   Just kidding….maybe????

4 Comments

Filed under issues, Julie, pregnancy, reunion, weight

4 responses to “20 years….

  1. My world is rocking right along with you… 20 years since I was a senior and now my daughter is starting high school. I’m not sure I can handle this.

    I think #2 sounds like a great option. For you. Not for me : ).

  2. tamaracastaneda

    LOL to Julie E.’s last comment. It would be weird for me to go to my 20th class reunion…I imagine you WANT to go since you have kept in contact with lots of your friends and have good memories of high school, I also vote for number 2!!

  3. I hope you don’t think I am creepy, but I have recently discovered your blog and I am having fun reading it. Who knew there were so many mormon mommy bloggers out there? I wonder how many other ward members have blogs. Would it be super creepy if I tried to find out and read them???

    Anyway, totally number 2, but 3 isn’t so bad either. I have never gone to a reunion myself. I am still waiting for number 4 to miraculously happen…

  4. I vote number 3…but I have a feeling that number 2 may happen 🙂

    It doesn’t matter if you come after surgery (which would make mom jealous), preggers (with twins or more..give John and Kate + 8 a run for their money), confident (or crazy), or a whole new lifestyle (which wouldn’t work out here, we’ve got some Long Beach restaurants to hit…fried cheese…mmmmm) We are just excited you are coming out next summer..YAHOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

