Re-thinking Me Time

After my last post, I’ve been thinking about that elusive “time” called “me.”  I happened upon this lady’s take on the concept of me time and while I don’t completely agree with everything she says in her post, I found enough in there to cause me pause.  I especially related to the feeling of always needing more me time and making questionable decisions to get more me time…like staying up WAY too late to read or goof around on the computer.  I always justify these decisions with the thought that if I didn’t take my time when I could I would never have any me time.  Here is her post in it’s entirety.  Let me know what you think.

http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/Raisingarrows/432782/

3 Comments

Filed under family, Julie, me time, motherhood, superior parenting

3 responses to “Re-thinking Me Time

  1. Very thought provoking… so I’ll share of few of my thoughts.

    First of all, I was a little leery to begin with since it’s from “homeschoolblogger.com”. I just don’t agree with any part of homeschooling, but we won’t go there right now.

    I am a BIG believer in making time yourself. I don’t care if you’re a 4 year old boy or a 37 year old woman. We ALL need “me-time” or whatever you want to call it. Our kids have time to be with friends, time to be with siblings, time to be a student, time to be an athlete and time to be alone. I love being a mother most of the time. But I think it is ESSENTIAL to get away sometimes.

    I feel so bad that the author of this post doesn’t have a husband who can step in and get a few things done to give her a break. That would stink. I also think it’s her fault for harboring negative feelings toward her husband and kids because SHE didn’t know how to communicate her need to be alone. She finally just gave up and decided that she wasn’t worth it (at least that’s how I interpreted it). Shame on her husband and kids for not stepping in and doing some dishes or laundry or bathtime so that she could leave for an hour and not have everything waiting for her. And shame on her for not maturely communicating this to him without “slinging dishes” and “being curt with everyone” when she got home. Is that really so hard to do?

    Elder Ballard’s talk from this past conference is a great one. I love the part where he says, “…sisters, find some time for yourself to cultivate your gifts and interests. Pick one or two things that you would like to learn or do that will enrich your life, and make time for them. Water cannot be drawn from an empty well, and if you are not setting aside a little time for what replenishes you, you will have less and less to give to others, even to your children.”

    I agree with the author of this blog that we need to seek God and there we will find happiness. Amen. I couldn’t agree more. But we also need to seek good friends and good hobbies and good desserts – without the kids – every now and then.

    (sorry if I said too much)

  2. jdhess71

    Love it! Thanks for such a thoughtful comment! There is no such thing as “saying too much” in my world! I agree with your criticisms and I must say I was hesitant when I saw it was a homeschooler blog also. I don’t feel as strongly about home schooling as you seem to Jules, but like you said….another time! 🙂 I just found myself agreeing with her description of not feeling refreshed when she emerged from me time. For myself, I seem to take some time for myself and then just want more and more and more. I saw myself in that description and I think, for me, that I have struggled with the Mom label. It’s only been recently that I can say (without feeling like I need to explain or justify) that I am a stay at home Mom and that’s all I’ve ever really wanted to be. I will have to write more about that struggle another time.

    I do agree with you heartily that a family needs to come together to support each other, Mom included, in practicing and developing their talents. I love that talk from Elder Ballard, so true.

    For myself, I think I need to be more in the moment with my children than I am. I need to relish the work I do in the home more than I do and not always be looking for escape because, in all honesty, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

  3. Debbie

    I just love what you both shared. I think there needs to be more of these conversations among Moms. We all need to sharpen our perspective on things.

Leave a Reply

