Babies

I’ve been thinking alot about babies recently.  I don’t know if it’s my dwindling egg supply or watching Emma get bigger or seeing a TON of preggo gals at church, but I have babies on the brain!  Now, as you all know I have three great kids already and if that’s all I ever had I would be extremely lucky.  I used to be one of those people who truly believed in overpopulation and thought that two children was responsible, three starting to push it and more than three?!  Crazy and old-fashioned.  As you can probably guess, I have changed my mind since my early twenties and don’t have the same views anymore (I also don’t think 40 is “really old” and “almost dead” anymore either).  I still thought the world was terribly over populated though…until some recent articles I had been reading about how some countries are actually suffering from a baby shortage.  News to me.  I found this video on someone’s blog and just found it amazing!  It’s an advertisement to encourage German couples to have more children.  Watch and be amazed…

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under babies, church, Connor, Emma, Encouragement, family, Gracie, Julie, overpopulation

4 responses to “Babies

  1. kimbershome

    Wow, that says a lot.

    I have 6 great kids at home and even on the worst day I find that there is still room in my heart for more. Crazy, I probably am. There’s nothing I’d like more than to be surrounded by babies.

    My baby is 3, there are no prospects on the horizon and there is an ache in my heart. I too am surrounded by pregnant women and as much as I like them, at the same time I envy them. What I wouldn’t do to be carrying another one inside of me or counting down the days until the day of arrival and seeing them make their entrance into the world.

    To me, that is what this life is all about and it is the greatest gift of all.

  2. Tamara

    I loved that video..not only for the sentiment and the beautiful children (and I loved that they had a child with Down’s and it appeared two speaking in sign language), but also ’cause it was in German and I understood some of what they were saying. I was worried that after Cesar’s snippy-snip I’d gaze at small babies and pregnant women longingly. But fortunately, I don’t…which I take as confirmation that we made the right choice to consider our family at complete with 5 kids.

  3. jdhess71

    Thanks for both of your comments. I love the excitement of being pregnant and waiting and hoping. I also hope for the peace and certainty that Tamara feels when we are done. I don’t like the feeling of regret or longing too much, so I hope to avoid that in this aspect of our lives! 🙂 The great thing about being a member of the church is that there always seem to be babies that need holding so even if I don’t have anymore…I can get one on loan! 🙂

  4. This is a beautiful video. I know that I need to just slow down and ENJOY my children more often.

Leave a Reply

