Dream Life

I just added a blog page to my blogroll (I’m SO blog savvy now) of a woman living the life I imagine I would LOVE.  The Pioneer Woman was a L.A. city girl who fell in love with a cattle rancher and now lives on a ranch with her husband and four kiddos.  I can’t even remember how I found her blog, but I read it with alot some jealously.  Those of you who know me know me to be loud, talk to much, friendly, outgoing, occasionally funny, selfish, inappropriate, candid, open and…I hope…a good friend.  Now, just to let you in on a little secret, I always wanted to be the quiet, loved by all, un-selfish lady.  You know the one….Melanie in Gone with the Wind or Caroline Ingalls in Little House on the Prairie.  The long suffering woman who always puts herself last.  The lady who no one can say a bad word about.  The one who never questions her husband, but somehow comes out on top without having to nag him to death.  Who mothers her children without yelling and they always behave and look at her with undying love in their eyes.  That’s who I always aspired to be.  Sad.  I never even got close.  But, this gal on Pioneer Woman is more like me personality wise, but also living that country life I always imagined I would love. Thus, my jealously.  Check her out.  Her pictures are amazing and she is too funny.

So, if you see me attempt to be quiet and demure…just smile and wait…I’m sure someone will ask a question or say something that I just cannot be quiet about and then the real me will return!

Also, it has occured to me that maybe this life I long for is more dream than reality…the first time someone wanted me to get out of bed at 4am to go milk some cows or some other nonsense I might get a little cranky.

1 Comment

Filed under blogs, domestic goddess, dream life, family, issues, Julie

One response to “Dream Life

  1. Tamara

    When you first told me about this blog and how this chick was living your dream life, I didn’t get what the appeal was. Can’t say I’ve ever given serious thought to wanting to live a life in the country. However, I am now totally hooked on not only her blog, but especially the Black Heels to Tractor Wheels Story. As if I wasn’t already wasting enough time on the computer reading blogs 😉

Leave a Reply

