What were you doing 14 years ago?

Well, fourteen years ago I was in Las Vegas in a beautiful dress standing outside a small church freezing to death.  Chris and I had been engaged for alittle more than a year.  He was 22 years old and I had just turned 23 and we decided to forget the whole big wedding thing and head to Vegas!  It was actually really sweet…for Vegas.   We planned it at one of the oldest little chapels in Vegas that was actually a real church at one time.  Chris and I had our family and friends there and had a really good time.  I look back at us then and think how young we were,  how excited.  Chris looked so handsome in his tuxedo and the service lasted like five minutes.  It was over so quickly and then we were married.  There are many memories of that day:  the freezing wind, going to get our wedding license at the court house, winning big that night at the tables (yea!) and so much more.  But, it’s that image in my mind of Chris standing at the altar looking so handsome and young that sticks out.  I’m amazed that he wanted to marry me at that point in his life.  We were not members of any church back then and we were the youngest of our friends to get married.  People thought we were crazy.  We got a lot of, “You have your whole life ahead of you” talks.  I can’t speak for Chris, but there was one thing I knew then and still know now that gave me the certainty to do what others thought was crazy…Chris was a good man.  I mean the old-fashioned, stand up for what’s right, help a stranger in the street, generous to a fault, loyal good man.  This is not to say that he didn’t and still does drive me crazy, but under it all, I know what and who he is.  I could see that even in his young face.  I just knew.  And even though we eat too much together, make horrible money decisions together, are messy together and are lazy together I never have to wonder about Chris.  What he says and what you see is him.  Period.  If he says to call him to help with a move or fix something, he means it.  It’s not social niceties, it’s real.  So, for all those reasons and many more I am so glad to be here 14 years later.  I owe him my life, my children and my security.  So, fourteen years ago I was a young-ish gal, standing outside a church….what were you doing?

3 Comments

Filed under Chris, family, Julie

3 responses to “What were you doing 14 years ago?

  1. Happy Anniversary! Congrats on FOURTEEN years! I think you two are wonderful together.

    What was I doing 14 years ago??? Erik & I were also quite young-ish, about to celebrate our 1st anniversary and barely pregnant with #1. My how time flies…. : ).

  2. Kerri

    Congratulations! It was a great ceremony..with the theme from “Ice Castles” playing in the background 🙂

    You both looked amazing….now 14 years later, you have three beautiful children and a wonderful home in Texas. Congratulations again on your successful marriage!

  3. Debbie

    This was so fun to read. I can feel the love you have for your husband – really sweet and at the same time down-to-earth and real. Congrats!

    Let’s see…14 years ago Ben and I had been married for 2 years. He had just finished law school and we were trying to figure out what to do with our lives. I was working in P.R. and he was working for a law firm in Provo, Utah.

Leave a Reply

